Saturday, 20 Apr 2024

Top Five Teams with the Most La Liga Titles in History

who has the most trophies in la liga

Spanish football has provided fans with countless memorable moments. Although Real Madrid and FC Barcelona have been dominant forces in the league, La Liga matches are a global treat. Let’s explore the top five teams that have clinched the prestigious La Liga title the most number of times.

5. Valencia CF (6 titles)

Valencia CF has won the La Liga title six times, finishing as runners-up on six occasions. Their first triumph came in the 1941-42 season, while their most recent success was in 2003-04. Notably, they have also secured the Copa del Rey eight times. In an incredible feat of success, they won the UEFA Europa League in the same season they won the La Liga.

4. Athletic Club (8 titles)

Athletic Club Bilbao has lifted the La Liga trophy eight times and ended up as runners-up on seven occasions. While they haven’t achieved European success, their domestic performance has been outstanding. They have also triumphed in the Copa del Rey a remarkable 24 times. Their last La Liga title came in the 1983-84 season. Interestingly, it was the only time they won the league title in consecutive seasons.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  LaLiga's Highest-Paid Players: Who Makes the Big Bucks?

3. Atletico Madrid (11 titles)

Atletico Madrid has a reputation for nurturing talented players who have become legends of the game. With 11 La Liga titles, their most recent triumph was in the 2020-21 season. The club’s first league title came in 1939-40, followed by another win in 1940-41. While they haven’t won the UEFA Champions League, Atletico Madrid has secured the Europa League and the Super Cup on multiple occasions. They have also clinched the Copa del Rey ten times.

2. FC Barcelona (26 titles)

FC Barcelona holds the second spot by a significant margin. They have been one of the dominant forces in Spanish football. Despite recent challenges, including the departure of Lionel Messi, FC Barcelona has shown promise under the management of former player Xavi. Their last La Liga title triumph was in the 2018-19 season.

1. Real Madrid (35 titles)

Real Madrid, the arch-rivals of FC Barcelona, claim the top spot with a record-breaking 35 La Liga titles. Known as “The Galácticos” for their history of signing established players, Real Madrid has been home to legends such as Roberto Carlos, David Beckham, Cristiano Ronaldo, Zinedine Zidane, and Luis Figo. Their first La Liga triumph came in the 1931-32 season, and their most recent title was in 2019-20. With a comfortable lead over second-placed Sevilla, Real Madrid aims to extend their title tally this season.


Q: Who is the most successful team in La Liga?
A: Real Madrid is the most successful team in La Liga, with 35 titles.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Lynn Family Stadium: A Soccer Haven in Louisville

Q: How many times has FC Barcelona won La Liga?
A: FC Barcelona has won La Liga 26 times.

Q: Which team has won the La Liga title the least number of times?
A: Athletic Club Bilbao and Valencia CF have won the La Liga title the least number of times among the top five teams, with 8 and 6 titles, respectively.


The history of La Liga is marked by the dominance of teams like Real Madrid and FC Barcelona. These clubs have amassed an impressive number of La Liga titles, showcasing their stellar performances over the years. As fans eagerly await the outcome of each season, the battle for the top spot continues, fueled by the passion and determination of these iconic teams.

For more updates on La Liga and other football news, visit Pesstatsdatabase – the ultimate resource for football statistics and analysis.