Thursday, 18 Apr 2024

Atlanta United Crowned MLS Cup Champions: A Night to Remember

mls champions

Long after the confetti is cleared and the champagne is cleaned up, Saturday is a night that will live long in the memory of everyone in the city of Atlanta. After 23 years without a championship, Atlanta finally tasted glory as they lifted the MLS Cup. In front of a stunned crowd, Atlanta United was crowned the champions.

An Unforgettable Match

But this victory didn’t come easily. Atlanta United had to face the Portland Timbers, a team they had never beaten before. However, Tata Martino, the mastermind behind United’s remarkable postseason run, had found the winning formula. He lined up his squad with the same lineup that had brought them success throughout the playoffs: Brad Guzan (GK), Greg Garza (LB), Leandro González Pirez (CB), Michael Parkhurst (CB), Franco Escobar (RB), Jeff Larentowicz (CM), Eric Remedi (CM), Darlington Nagbe (CM), Miguel Almirón (FWD), Josef Martinez (FWD).

Atlanta’s Night to Shine

From the start, it was evident that this was Atlanta United’s night. After a tense opening, Miguel Almirón came close to taking the lead. Julian Gressel’s persistence allowed him to find Greg Garza on the left wing, whose cross found Almirón in front of the goal. An impressive shot from Almirón was denied only by a fingertip save from the goalkeeper.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  The Legends of Brazilian Soccer: Celebrating the Best Players of All Time

But just before halftime, Atlanta United showed their determination. Michael Parkhurst’s tackle put immense pressure on the Timbers, allowing Josef Martinez to seize the opportunity. The 2018 MVP skillfully rounded the goalkeeper and fired the ball into the net, giving Atlanta United the lead.

A Crucial Save

Although the match-winner was a crucial moment, there was another defining play just moments later. After a dominant first half, the Timbers launched a deadly counter-attack, creating a scoring chance for Jeremy Ebobisse. With a point-blank effort, Ebobisse aimed for the goal, but Brad Guzan made a heroic save, preserving Atlanta United’s lead going into halftime.


Q: How long had Atlanta United gone without winning a championship?

A: Atlanta United had gone 23 years without winning a championship before their MLS Cup victory.

Q: Who was Atlanta United’s MVP in the final?

A: Josef Martinez, Atlanta United’s star forward, was named the Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the final match.

Q: Who were the key players for Atlanta United?

A: Brad Guzan, Michael Parkhurst, and Josef Martinez were crucial players for Atlanta United in their MLS Cup-winning campaign.


Atlanta United’s MLS Cup triumph marked a historic moment for the city of Atlanta. With an unforgettable performance, they showed their resilience, determination, and skill to claim the championship. The victory not only brought joy to the fans but also solidified Atlanta United’s place in football history.

To stay updated on the latest football news and statistics, visit the official Pesstatsdatabase.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Final MLS Salaries for 2022: A Look into the Numbers