Monday, 15 Apr 2024

The Art of the Throw-In: A Guide to Football’s Lesser-Known Technique

Video can you score on a throw in

can you score on a throw in

When it comes to football, we often focus on goals, dribbles, and saves. But there’s one unassuming technique that can be just as important: the throw-in. In this article, we dive into the rules and strategies behind the throw-in, shedding light on this often-overlooked aspect of the beautiful game.

1. The Procedure

At its core, a throw-in is a method of restarting play after the ball has gone out of bounds. Here are the key guidelines for executing a proper throw-in:

  • Stand facing the field of play.
  • Have both feet on the touchline or on the ground outside the touchline.
  • Use both hands to throw the ball from behind and over the head.

It’s worth noting that all opponents must stand at least 2 meters away from the point on the touchline where the throw-in is being taken. This ensures a fair and uncontested throw.

2. In Play and Offences

Once the ball is thrown into play, it becomes live and can be contested by players from both teams. However, there are a few important rules to keep in mind:

  • If the ball doesn’t fully enter the field of play and touches the ground before doing so, the throw-in must be retaken from the same position.
  • If the throw-in is not executed correctly, the opposing team is given the opportunity to take the throw instead.
  • The player who executes the throw-in cannot touch the ball again until it has been touched by another player.
Tham Khảo Thêm:  The Top 6 La Liga Teams

3. Scoring from a Throw-In?

Contrary to popular belief, it is not possible to score directly from a throw-in. If the ball enters the opponents’ goal from a throw-in, a goal kick is awarded. On the other hand, if the ball enters the thrower’s goal, a corner kick is awarded. So while a throw-in can lead to a goal indirectly, you won’t see a player launching the ball directly into the net from a throw.



Q: Can a player on the defending team intercept a throw-in?
A: Yes, once the ball is in play, any player, regardless of their team’s position, can contest for the ball and try to gain possession.

Q: Is a throw-in considered a set-piece?
A: Technically, a throw-in is not classified as a set-piece. Set-pieces typically refer to dead-ball situations such as free kicks, corners, and penalties.


The throw-in may not receive the same level of attention as a fantastic goal or a perfectly executed tackle, but it is an essential part of the game. Understanding the rules and executing a well-placed throw can provide a team with a valuable opportunity to regain possession or start an attacking move. So next time you’re watching a match, take a moment to appreciate the subtle artistry of the throw-in and the impact it can have on the beautiful game.


The Art of the Throw-In: A Guide to Football’s Lesser-Known Technique